A Spoonful of Health

A Blog About Wellness

Habits

2 Comments

There are many website, books, etc that tell us we can make or break a habit in 3-4 weeks. Well let me tell you it’s a lot easier to make a habit than break one. I can go 21-28 days without doing something, and still pick it back up the next day. In my opinion to break a habit you really just need to want to.

I’ve bitten my nails my whole life.
metal-nails
Just before I went to Mexico a few years ago I was able to stop. Then I started. Just before my wedding I stopped. Then I started. Right now I’ve stopped (let’s see if I can keep it up)! While biting my nails is a habit, I think there is more to it. I believe I bite my nails more so when I am stressed, craving something I just can’t put my finger on, if there is a nick/tear in my nail I start chewing it to try and even it out and the next thing I know.. nails are gone!

Food is the same.
lofthouse+sugar+cookies12
I mean I won’t lie, I love sugary goods, but I eat them more when I can’t figure out what I want, when I’m bored, and when I am upset about something. (Generally I am upset than I am eating crap).

Breaking habits is a state of mind. It’s a force of willpower. You have to want to make changes to see changes. No one else can force you to do something you don’t want to. So this is the same with eating right and getting in shape.
I know I’ve been doing all these little fad diets etc to get where I want to go, but now that I have lost some weight and have been working out, I am feeling better about myself. I know that I need to make a dietary lifestyle change. Did you know that diet is 80% of your appearance, and exercise and genetics are only 20%? So working your ass off and not seeing weightloss results is probably because of diet choices! Exercise is great, and muscle is heavier than fat, and it can help you look leaner and become stronger, but you will not see weightloss without eating right!

Over the next few weeks we are going to become Scientists!
prescription-medicine-clip-art
I will talk about different nutrients our body needs, and what foods we can get them from. We will work towards creating a basic meal plan for a day to show you how easy it is to eat right!

Edit: not done yet, havent had time to ake photos! Will update when done.
We are also going to start our own 30 Day Flexibility Challenge!
{IMAGE}
Print out our amazing Yoga calendar! For Day 1, do the pose. On Day 2 I want you to do poses 1 and 2. Day 3, 1,2 and 3, etc. Hold each pose for 30-60 seconds, depending on how you are feeling, do not push yourself if you have never done any yoga! On exercises that are for legs or arms, make sure to do 30 seconds on EACH side. Please let me know how you are doing, send me pictures! I want to point out that it is possible many of you are more flexible than I am already! So bear with my pictures, I did the very best I could at this stage!

2 thoughts on “Habits

  1. The most important thing is to know your WHY. Why are creating or changing this habit? The deep why, not the quick why. What will it do for you. When you really drill down and know the value to you of why you want to do something, it becomes easier to remember to do it.

Leave a Reply

