A Spoonful of Health

A Blog About Wellness

Lemon Water

Leave a comment

My first goal is starting each day with 16oz of lemon water.
This already puts me 2 cups into an 8 cups of water a day routine. I am going to try to drink more than 8 cups of water by making my cups 16oz instead of 8oz. It should be fairly easy with the lemon because it is not so boring. I’m going to try some other water flavours later on, such as cucumber water, or putting berries and mint in water! Anything to make it not so blah!

lemon

I am putting lemon in my water because it gives it flavour, and I hate plain water.
But there are MANY great reasons lemon added to our water is beneficial.

lemon2

This week I will be linking to two other blogs which gave me some amazing recipes so I could make Chicken Wraps!
I started with homemade Tortillas from A Sweet Pea Chef. These were the yummiest flour tortillas I have found. I edited the recipe and used whole wheat flour instead of white, and I used vegetable shortening. I think these would be amazing made with butter, but I did not want to stray to far from the original recipe on the first try. The nice thing about the homemade tortillas is you know exactly what you are putting in them. There are no preservatives or sugars. I used whole wheat flour to give me some whole grains for the day! Of the reasons I wanted to make tortillas is because I had SO much stuff in my pantry and I need to find ways to use it!
In the tortilla I put lettuce, tomato, shredded cheddar cheese and homemade sweet and spicy mustard. I will post the recipe for this in the future.
Of course my chicken wraps would not be complete without chicken strips!
I had two chicken breasts in my freezer so I cut them into strips and followed a REALLY easy recipe for Oven Baked Chicken Strips from Happy Money Saver. This recipe is great because you make a ton and freeze them for the future! You can add in any spices you want to the flour part. Again, I used whole wheat flour, and I added pepper and thyme to mine for flavour!
Chicken breast is great because it is a lean protein, and being oven baked it does not retain all the fat you get from deep frying!
This recipe made us about 5 wraps and gave us a bunch of leftover tortillas which we have been using for breakfast wraps, and peanut butter snack wraps.

Leave a Reply

