A Spoonful of Health

A Blog About Wellness

Post Pregnancy Life Changes

2 Comments

Where to begin?
I just had my first child at the end of 2014, it’s 2 1/2 months later and I’m still a balloon.
I felt that I had a rough pregnancy, nauseas for 5 months, and not gaining weight, and then BAM gaining 50 lbs before I delivered. I ended up with high blood pressure and pre-eclampsia. Of course I can blame pregnancy for some of this, but I also need to blame myself and my poor eating habits. I was over working, working odd shifts, shifts that were different than the shifts my husband was working. This led us to eating out a lot, and snacking throughout the day instead of making healthy meals. Not to mention I fell of the wagon and fell in LOVE with soda again.
My baby was 9 lbs, and I lost about 20 lbs since she was born. Half was her and half was water weight.
Right after she was born I thought I’d start getting in shape and eating great. Except I was sore from the fast weight gain, my knees hurt, my back ached. I was tired and not getting any sleep. Heaven forbid if I put her down to try and eat or clean. Then I was breastfeeding and that was not going well, so then I was stressed out!
Needless to say it’s almost 3 months later and all I’ve done is for the past 11 days no soda, and 20 minute walks each day.

Clearly I need to do more, but at least I’ve finally started!
So join me over the next many months, possibly years as I work towards being a healthier person and getting back into the shape and weight category I’d like to be in.

I’ll post as often as I can with a child in tow, my goal will be every wednesday. I’ll talk about what I’ve been doing and how I’ve been eating and exercising. Every other post I will include a recipe that I had tried during my journey, and discuss the benefits of the recipes in weight loss/health.

The first 3 things I am doing to start losing weight and get in shape are 1. Drink 16oz of water with 1 tbsp of lemon juice first thing in the morning, 2. Drinking ZERO soda, and 3. Minimum 20 minutes of walking with my stroller each day.

Day 1 215 lbs, 55 lbs to go
march13fat
Starting Measurements
Bust 43.5″
Chest 36″
Arm 12″
Waist 37″
Hips 48″
Thigh 26.5″
Calves 14″
Stomach 45″
Size 18

2 thoughts on “Post Pregnancy Life Changes

  1. Good for you sweetie for putting it out there.

  2. You’ll be able to use your interval walking. https://spoonfulofhealth.wordpress.com/2012/12/21/interval-walking/ You might have to do the arms one at a time though.

Leave a Reply

